AGAINST ALL ODDS

AGAINST ALL ODDS
The heart want what it wants,only two can call in love!
Things can be forced but work out in the end. You can’t choose a partner for one!
CHAPTER 1
” These are becoming annoying,” a voice said in the back.
He kissed my lips making me wobble. But I hold holdy and let him kiss me tenderly. I wanted those jealousy eyes to get more hurt. It was nice ,people envying me and some are already wishing bad on me.
” Get a room,” another shouted .
We stopped kissing and chuckled but I turned around seeing them make a mockery . I threw myself in his arms and embraced tenderly. He planted another kiss and it grew deeper. It make me want more . Ryan was unique, he looked like he stepped out of a magazine. Since day one,I admired one thing about him. He seemed like a new person,more different from the one I knew.
I never knew this was where me and him would end up. Ryan was white,I never pictured myself with a white guy. It was like a adventure and if he married me,means I won a jackpot. Magazines proved that if you got married to white guy,marriage lasted longer because it seemed the two colors understood each other than same color. Ryan was tall and muscular body that reflected on his skinny jean and colorful shirt. I was attracted to his good sense of humour and jolly nature,,he was kind and sweet .
Let me tell you how I met Ryan. I was dressed up in a red short,tight velvet dress for a party at school. I was always a loner because I trusted no one,the truth ,I was a nerd. I went in the crowd hoping I would bump a guy who would notice me . The music was roaring and every body jumped and danced to it. I smelt the mixture of cologne among the crowd and I decided to rush to the table before the odor consumed me.
I grabbed a cup with punch. I didn’t want to get drunk but wanted to act like I drank. Who would notice me if I stood alone with no drink. I would look like I wasn’t supposed to be there ,I was forcing myself to be here. You know our peer, you don’t want to miss out anything ,especially on a party.
I felt like a stone fell on my feet ,only to notice some guy feet on it. I quickly pushed him off.
“Watch were you step on,” I shouted and dropped the cup ,flashing the punch on the ground.
” Sorry,”his voice said and I never looked up but crunched to rub my feet so I could feel at ease. I realize something was different. The accent of voice was strange. His voice soothed to calm the mist and dreadful storms.
” You should look where you going fool,” I shouted again . My anger was boiling up and I wanted to step on his feet until I saw who was in front of me. Let me tell you one rhing about me, I’ m shirt tempered. A white boy! If only I saw it was him I wouldn’t have kept on shouting. I mean ,black people do it on purpose. I had goosebumps and the way he looked at me chilly flew in my spine.
” Sorry ,I didn’t see. Hope you forgive me,” his voice sounded sweet and sincere. I chuckled and lean on the table ,I was losing my balance and I told myself I wouldn’t fell. I never met such a handsome guy like him,and he was white. His voice made music in my ears ,making me ticklish. I felt something developing in my body. I pictured myself with me as lovers but it send a electric shock to my body.
” Its okay,”I waved my hand looked at the other side to hide my face. I sighed and lost balance. The table suddenly broke and he saved me from tumbling. I felt his big muscular body crushing my thin frame. I was magnetic with his soft hands and smelt his fragrance and rose aftershave. His colorful shirt smelt rich and fresh. The table splashed on the table in a loud noise but it didn’t stop people from dancing. Everyone was only concerned of their own desires, minding other people’s business. Broken glasses were on the floor with the red liquid flowing on the floor. The smell of mixture of different types of alcohol odor the whole room. The crowd didn’t stop dancing but they carried with their own activities.
“Thank you! I didn’t see,” I gained my posture and looked at the mess I caused. If only I didn’t lean on the table. I grabbed a mop to wipe and he grabbed it. He seemed to also blame himself since it was the only two of us on the table.
” I will help.Its not your fault,” he assured me with his sympathetic eyes. I admired his charm and genuine personality.
I was felling for him but it was weird. I never loved a white guy,I thought I was crazy. He was kind and sweet . He had a good sense of humor. That was what attracted me,I was longing for his touch and kiss, I don’t know why.
He helped me clean the mess and that was how we became a couple . He took me home and before I went inside the house, He asked for a hug and we bumped our heads and accidentally and kissed. The kiss went deeper. I was so worried that he would say the kiss was a mistake but next day he send flowers with a note, ‘ Will you be my girlfriend? I love you!’
Sounds funny but true,I agreed . I wanted to have the experience too ,maybe white guys were better than the black who use us woman for their own benefits. I had seen in magazines how whites marry black women and their relationship last till death.
Back to reality,Ryan spoiled me everyday with roses,gifts and spontaneous dates. I was the talk of town. I walked like the queen and everyone noticed me but I lost friends . I started to doubt his love . A group of girls came out from no way and surround us after the kissing scene.
” Wow ,you got nice muscle”
One girl squeezed his arm and another on his chest. I get sad because I saw Ryan was enjoying it.
” When are you playing for another match? I wanna watch”
” You are loved”
Some of them put their claws on his chest , It was as I was undetected or invisible. Itt irritated me and I wanted to leave him but his hand hold tightly mine.
” I have a girlfriend ,please!” he said gently. My heart was at ease and I drew closer to make his words mean it. The girls murmured disappointedly. He kissed my cheek and I smiled. I saw hate and frustrations in their eyes.
” You will regret it,” the girl with her blonde pony tail spoke and dragged her red fancy boots ,clicking her tongue.
Ryan spread his arms around my waist and whispered the three magic words in my ears. My heart fluttered and my knees went weak but I loved it.
CHAPTER 2
My relationship was flourishing until I came through his student card. I don’t know what made me observe it . Ryan was two years down my age,love had no age but I contested against it. These type of guys will make you their sugar mamas. Most of them benefited from the woman but I was the being spoiled. I was the one who benefited. This age thing lingered in my mind,it weighed heavy. I wanted us to break it off but wondered ‘ what if’s’. I couldn’t concentrate on our moment .He noticed it and treated me more with care. I had to keep on hanging.
He was in the second year as I was still in the first year at college,we did different course. I was in Accounting and him ,Mechanical Engineering. He drove his father Ferrari to pick me up for the date and left me in the car as he rushed to buy snacks at a garage. That was where I find myself rummaging among his things .
” Are you okay?” he asked as he started the engine.
I nodded with my mouth open. We arrived at the park near the zoo. I was wondering if age would affect me,I was already dating him . What if he was like those Ben 10’s who just want to eat cookie and leave? We haven’t done sex but he was planning to.
” Baby,what is it?” he asked removing his seatbelt slowly. I wasn’t there and anxious.
” Let’s go ,” my voice sounded sorrowful . Before I aligned from the car,his hand grabbed me.
” Its nothing,” I said looking outside,avoiding his eyes.
” If you say so,” he jumped out the car and I joined him. But he was not happy with the answer. He knows me that I was pretending.
He spread a pink soft blanket on the green grass and I threw myself on it . Landing hard on the ground,Luckily the grass shielded me.
” Tired? ” he asked and I chuckled as I watch himdecorated on the blanket with flowers in a glass,snacks,juice,ice cream ,strawberries ,chocolates and a buffet of finger food. His handsome face and muscles still brought chills in my spine. I flattered!
” Baby,you know you are the center of my heart,”he jested. I wondered if he was asking or telling me.I nodded and grabbed a handful of snacks and threw them in my mouth. A sound of chirping birds was in the tree and I looked up searching for them
“I mean it,” he added and I gave him my my full attention,I wonder why I felt it was like a joke.I pouted and sulked ,he assured me he meant it.
” Wow,thanks baby!” I kissed his cheek . I blushed ! The excitement linger my head, I was processing it. The excitement sparring my face..
” You know, I know you older than me,” he spoke calmly. I stopped chewing to see where it was heading. How did he know I was worried about his age? I wondered if he had sort of magic or something .
” Just know I love you! Please don’t worry about my age. Let us love each other and see where it head out,” he added.
I smiled as he brushed my cheeks with his soft fingers . Maybe this was true love after all. I had forgotten we were a month in a relationship and he wanted us to celebrate it. I thought he was just spoiling me. I wanted more of him so we lay on the blanket ,watching the sky with our hands entwined.
It was a dream come true,this was kind of relationship I wanted. My partner mustn’t be shy to kiss me in public or to walk around with his hands on my wais.Most blacks don’t do that because they say its not decent and some don’t do it because of their cheating ways. My parents never walk in public holding hands I wondered why. But thiis was what I want and I got it. I wish the moment wouldn’t last,I wanted it to be a lifetime. Hope we can get married but I had doubts that lingered at the end. Surprises can come away,I could never know a person. But I won’t let this distract me so I put it aside for further decision making later.
Ryan made sure I was home and safe but my mother wasn’t happy ,I arrived home just past midnight.
” What is wrong with you this days?” she shouted as I entered through the back door. I used the back door to avoid the clustering noise of front door. She seemed to be waiting for me in the kitchen. She was sipping something hot,I saw the steam floating from it. My mother loved hot chocolate at night.
” I ‘ m sorry mama,” I said remorseful. She stood at me looking around as if checking if I was hurt or harmed.
” Where were you?” she asked worried.
” I was with my boyfriend,” I replied shyly. I was always a honest child,I hated lying to her anyway.
” Bring that boy I want to see him,” a voice spoke behind her. I looked and saw my father standing on the dark threshold. My mother’s jaws dropped as if she contested against what my father said.
“I will bring him,” I said hoping they let me go to sleep.
” Baba, our culture don’t allow us to do that,” she gushed at my father but he shook his head.
” I hope you aren’t sleeping with him,” my mother added. I chuckled and hold tightly my bag and my legs were trembling. It wasn’t a topic I wanted not discuss with my parents. They never spoke about sex,it was a forbidden word !
” I haven’t mama,” I answered and she took a deep sigh. I trembled wondering what was next.
” Bring that boy and we will see if you doing the right thing,” my father spoke and I nodded and motioned with his hand for me to go to bed. I quickly rushed to bednbecause I was scared he would beat me.
I couldn’t sleep but stare at the ceiling questioningly about the next day.
CHAPTER 3
Ryan was excited to meet my parents but I was scared to tell him that there was nothing to be happy about. It was a bomb ready to explodea. I realized I was actually in fear for nothing. My parents wouldn’t invite him to humikate him ,would they?. We sat at break on the benches near the canteen under the blazing sun. There was excitement in his eyes when I told him ,my father’s plea.
” I will dress in my suit,” he spoke with confident.
” I need to bath then dress up,” he continued.
This was too much for me. I had a feeling ,something would go wrong He hadn’t met my parents and he wasnexcited already. What was there to be happy about it? I sensed a bad night ahead.
” Baby ,be yourself . Don’t be in a suit. Its not a interview,he just want to know who you are,” I said annoyed ,with worry.
Some girls came around us asking for autograph. I wonder if I could survive this. He smiled as he signed on their hands and t- shirts.A girl in a pony tail asked he sign on her thigh and he hesitated as if he was thinking. I took my bag to leave.
” Look at the loser,”a voice spoke behind me and I never bothered to look back. I was boiling mad. I went to hid near a alley and peered to check on them . The girl must haven been given a signature on her thigh. Ryan was smiling ,not even noticing I was gone. I knew it ,we were just playing. He was using me. I hold back my tears and went to my next class. That would be a relief ! No dinner ,no meeting my parents and no trouble!
He had came out of my mind,I was going to let my parents know that my relationship was over. There were weird stares and murmuring in the class,I knew they were laughing at me. I didn’t care anyway,I was here for school not for love anyway. I wasn’t the first to be cheated on or played on. Was I? I didn’t notice my phone beeping, I concentrated on reading because we had a test in few minutes.
I was confident I would pass, I did,I knew! The exam was easy at least and walked confidently out of class . A soft hand grabbed me,I knew it was Ryan. His cologue and soft hands were easy to detect . He was the only one who used aftershave at school.
” You disappeared,I have been looking for you. You are not answering my calls,” he said gently.
His eyes were showing his concern and I shyly looked down.
” Sorry,I thought your other chick…,” he interrupted me.
” She is not my chick,” he said loudly.
” You touched her thigh,” I said with violence .
” I didn’t…… Baby ,how many times did I tell you I love you, you are the only one in my hear,” he took my head on his chest. His handsome face had a defect on me,I am blushed again. And again!
My classmates came out giving their bad stares and mimicking again and he hugged me tightly. A golden rule was to hug him tight and if he let me lose then he was a friend . But hugs for real love last longer. That was the golden rule in the love book.
” This two are something”
” Let’s see where it head off”
” Tomorrow he will find another girl and dump this shit”
I pretended not to hear but I was delighted to be in his arms again. I was relieved I won’t embarass myself at home. Imagine being dumped and my parents knowing? They wanted to know him then boom I was dumped. I would be doomed.
” I love this girl to bits,” he said loudly . The class never murmured again but minded their own business. He meant it.I just can’t wait for my parents to know him. But I still had counts of this. But…..What if something something goes wrong?


” Mama ,he is here,” I screamed rushing to the table checking if all the food was on table. I check how my parents were dressed. I fixed my dad shirt’s buttons and my mom’s doek.
” Baby girl ,let me open door,” she patted my shoulder so I would let her go.
She quickly grabbed the door but she stood mute looking at what was in front of her.
” What can I do for you?” she murmured before I went to the door,my father gestured with his hand for me to sit still.I thought maybe it wasn’t Ryan,it could be strangers.My mother was stunned, frozen, contemplating it all.
” You must be on the wrong door, white boy,” she shouted and closed the door.
The moment I heard ‘ white boy’ ,I knew it was Ryan. I rushed to the door.
” He is my boyfriend,” I opened the door harshly. I could see disapproving faces from my parents but I thought it was nothing big They weren’t expecting a white boy of course, they were in shock. Lucky Ryan was still there and he smiled when he saw me.
” Come in,” I gestured him the way. I saw disapproval on my parent’ s faces but I couldn’t just make him him. They should see how extra ordinary he was. I kept a smile plastered on my face,Ryan’s palms were sweating.
He was nervous and shaking though and I whispered,” Be strong,it will be fine.” He smiled broody.
” You are dating this boy?” my father asked with mixtures of anger and worry on his face. My mother murmured with her head shaking to and fro like a swaying tree. She buried her hands on face in shame.
CHAPTER 4
My dad chased Ryan away like a filthy and disgusting human. He was treated like a dog that I was mood and went straight to my bedroom and locked it. I was devastated . Couldn’t they see how happy I was in love. My mom banged on it a lot of time as I buried my head on my knees.
” Christy …. Open the door…. We need to talk,” she shouted at the door.
I looked at the wall and cried like a baby. I noticed my phone was vibrating, it was Ryan. I wipe the tears on my face and quickly opened the messages.
Baby,I ‘m sorry ,it didn’t work out as you wanted. I ‘m sure they will accept me if they only saw who I was.
He wasn’t angry with me,I was at ease. I had to think how to make him feel at ease too. Ryan was good at words,he knew what to always say that soothens my heart. Anger turned to joy !
” You better not sleep with that guy and this madness ends now” my father shouted . I felt his rage through his voice. He shouldn’t worry,I was still a virgin. We kiss and cuddle ,duh!
” Open the door,” he added. I ignored my father,I only wanted Ryan.
I’m glad you aren’t angry with me
No! Why would I? I told you ,nothing wil separate me from you. Our love will conquer
Thanks baby
Have a good night ! Let’s meet on same spot tomorrow!
Okay! Good night!
I threw the phone on bed and jumped into my smooth duvet and slept. I didn’t even remove my clothes ,I always dress up into my pajamas. I usually bath before bed but I couldn’t do that because I didn’t want to face my parents. The bathrooms were near their room. My stomach growled with hunger and I dozed off.
When the owl was hooting in the trees and crickets chirping,I knew everyone was in bed and the streets were humanless. I sneaked in to the kitchen and dished food and ate . I was unsettled when I heard my mother coughing. I don’t want to see her,I was very angry with her, I didn’t want to face both of them.
The next morning I disappeared before they woke up and met Ryan near the hills. Genuine tears flood my eyes and he quickky wiped them,assuring me it would be alright. We watched the sun set in the east. The dusk was beautiful showing a colorful horizon with tiny stars dazzling.It was romantic,he looked okay and not bothered with last night scene. He was whispering good sweet love things.
He smiled and made my knees wobble. I told you his handsome face had a effect on me.We entangle in a long passionate kiss. I savoured the moment.
” I understand your parents don’t like whites,”he spoke out of the blue. He hold my hand tightly. I wondered where the topic was going.
” Will you be okay to meet my parents?” he asked genuinely.
I was puzzled and dumfounded. Whatnif the same happened at hisbparent’s place I gve him a worry stare that made him tense. I just wanted us to make a blissful moment that didn’t last.
” Don’t worry my parents are not racist,” he added. What made him think my parents are racist? My parents were just in shock ,they weren’t expecting it.
” They are not like that,” I defended my parents. Ryan was unconcerned.I saw he wasn’t affected more than me . I wanted my parents to accept whom I love but this was a risky to take. Remember I had issues at first,dating someone different from color is bad as dating from another country. I love him though so I took the risk. Maybe he was right! My parents need to know him well so they can accept him. They should watch how much he loved me and how happy I was. I couldn’t convince them,I don’t want trouble. I don’t like noise and last night commotion still echoed in my ears.
Dust must settle down first and I would prove to them that Ryan was a good guy.
” I will first talk my parents then arrange the date to meet” he compiled. My nerves were running shot and I was nervous.
” Will you tell them I am black?” I wondered and needed a answer but he chuckled and feed me a strawberry which he dipped in the vanilla ice cream. He wrestled with me and kissed me passionately ,I enjoyed the moment.
Though the meeting of parents want to distract my pure blissful moment. I felt light and had made it in life. He was the stance of peace . I always had peace of mind.
CHAPTER 5
The date has been set ,I was browsing in the Mr Price for a new dress. I needed to look good and prettier. My parents were giving me a silent treatment and wouldn’t give me spare money. I was a lucky girl though ,Ryan gave me amoney worth a month . I brought some books and a pen needed at school. I used the other money for the floral dress I brought . I found matching pumps. The remaining money Iwould spend it on lunch at college.
I announcedto my parents that I was going out on Friday and return on the following day. I didn’t lie ,I told them the truth that Ryan’s parents wanted to see me.
“This kid will go on my nerves,” shouted my father .
I walked to my room ,I didn’t care anymore but I saw my parents weren’t happy with my choices . I thought my mom would follow me and giving some advice but nothing. Maybe my father stopped her. She been talking to me with signs ,avoiding being seen by my Dad. My mother shook her head or would put her finger on her lips or tell me to worry by waving her hand . Its probably my father wanted me to feel bad.
Ryan was excited when he saw me,he lifted me my small thin body in the air and hold me tight. Of course, students still murmured behind my back. They thought we are a show off couple . I loved it,it felt good to be loved. People were jealous and wanted this relationship to end . Not knowing we are real. I let Ryan know that my parents know I was visiting him but he saw how anxious I was . I didn’t want him to see it though.
” Give them time baby,” he assured me ,rubbing my hands softly.
” Are you ready for tonight?”he asked . I nodded but I was more nervous. What if they don’t accept me?
” Did you tell them I ‘m black?”my voice was shaky. He kissed my forehead and sighed.
” Stop worrying babe!,” his eyebrows winked and made me laugh. I felt better,there was nothing to worry about ,I guessed.
Soon after our day lessons ,Ryan dropped me at home and I took a shower and hymned ” It is well’ song and when I wrapped my body in a towel,my mother entered with her arms folded.
” Baby girl ,you will be hurt. Please don’t go to that whites’s home,” she pleaded.
I had a bad feeling though but I ignored her and applied my vanilla moisturizer on my body. To know what would happen there ,I had to go . What if she was wrong ? And my thoughts bwere wrong too?I didn’t want her to distract my love for Ryan anymore.What if he the only one who ever loved me in the world?
” You will regret it,” she said and left my room. She was cursing me but I didn’t want to fight anymore . I remained humbled and look at the bright side. Ryan loved me ,too much!


” Ryan ,how could you bring that girl in my house? Wait till your father come home,” she hissed and I looked at Ryan worriedly.
She grinned and breathed through her teeth. She didn’t look at me at any further and clicked her tongue before storming out leaving the tension hanging in the air.
” Don’t worry! I will talk to her,” he planted a kiss on my cheek and left me in the lounge. I was devastated and was loosing my posture. I was trembling. My heart pounded and head was getting dizzy. Its all the stress and I sat down on the black leather couches. I browsed the room,it showed they were wealthy. I perched my arm on the couch ,wishing it was Ryan holding my head. Telling me it would be okay.
I noticed from outside the house that Ryan came from a rich family. Everything looked spontaneous and valuable. There were sparsely furnished rooms. Their house looked newly painted unlike other houses which looked old wth falling paintings.His parents had a own company. This night was promising nothing but a dread and horror. It was dark and light couldn’t enter,I wanted to leave . Dinner spoiled!
” That girl will make you dry to poor,”she shouted . I heard her voice shouting and could hear him plead with her . The front door opened and a short man with Ryan resemblance entered holding a brown briefcase. He threw the jacket on the table ,he wasn’t aware I was in the room.
” Good evening,sir,” i spoke calmly.
I stood up to show respect but I was shaking. He gave !e a disgusting stare from head to feet. Maybe I wasn’t good looking and my dress was bad,I checked it then knew ‘ trouble has come’. My stomach was rolling ,I wanted to puke but I hold it. I was horrified.
” What are you doing here? I literally told my wife we don’t need a helper,” he shouted and dropped his briefcase on the floor.
” I…..I…,” words couldn’t come out of my mouth,I was struck. I avoided unwanted attention but Ryan’s wouldn’t let it.
” Leave my house,” he charged out ,yelling. He opened the door harshly ,I felt the cold breeze pass through my thighs.
Ryan came running ,I thought he might have heard his dad’s shouting.
” She is my girlfriend,” he announced boldly and he took my hand and hold me tightly.
“What?” Ryan ‘s parents said simatenously.
There was a moment of silence. They were digesting to the news. Ryan’s dad strolled left to right twice and looked at me devilishly but Ryan stood by my side. I was safe with him by my side but was scared they would shoot me. Whites always have guns ,I know!
” Get out of my house,” he said calmly.
” If she goes ,I will go with her,” Ryan protested . I tried to walk but he hold my waist with his heavy strength.
” Go and never return,” he said unconcerned and strolled away,his mother picked up his jacket and briefcase and rushed after him.
I looked down on the floor and feigns sorrow of my demise.
” I will go baby,”I said and grabbed my pink handbag and left. I thought he would follow but he didn’t. I don’t know how I will go home ,in thedark night,I was lonely and knew our relationship was doomed from start. First my parents and now it was his? Maybe it was a punishment for what my parents did to Ryan.
I didn’ t know a gloomy morning herald a terrible night,I never forget.
CHAPTER 6
A creepy man loomed out of no where I strolled down the street. The street looked abandoned with no activities unlike her home. I inhaled a scent of cigarette and I looked back,there was a man in black. I couldn’t see his figures than the one in front. My mind told me to be cautious and walker faster,I changed directions. My mind told me to run but I was out numbered. The man in front grinned,I saw his yellow teeth with his devilish thoughts in him.
” What is a girl doing round here?” he pretended to be concerned. I was rekucant to respond.
” Give us everything you have ,” the one behind him gruntled. I could smell his disgusting breath.
I had nothing on me,my legs trembled in fear. My stomach rumbled with fear and I threw my purse to one in front. I realized the man was already close to me. I tried to run but he lunged after me and grabbed my hair. I screamed in pain and the other one threatened me with a knife, to keep me quiet .
” Give us everything you hiding ,” he whispered and my heart pounded as if it would explode.
” That’s all I have ,” my voice was shaky..There was fear in my voice that was palpable. I shivered !
” Doo ,tell her again or she want us to make her a meal for cats,” he chuckled and waved a knife on my face.
” I’m serious ,this is all I have ,” I shouted in fear .
A slap flew my face and I landed on the tar ground. I lay there still hoping they would think I was conscious.
” She is pretending ,” the one who was behind spoke.
My heart beat faster like hundred drums,my stomach turned as I felt their foots drawing closer. Pain flashes throgh my body.I remained still ,laziness through my body I smelt blood
I wondered what they would do to me then I nrealised they wouldnt let me go. I sneaky tried to run but one grabbed my hand harshyly. Pinches and kicks flew on my body,I smelt blood in my mouth . i try to sit up and blood was dripping from my nose and I lay there dead. I had no strength and dozed off. I just wanted to be home. I dreamt Ryan leaving me when he saw my lifeless body. It was as if he didn’t care. I cried in my soul ,in my spirit. My spirit was crying blood,I know the spirit is supernatural but felt mine like it had blood.


” She has a few broken teeth and bruised rib,” a voice spoke in a cold room.
I senses the room,I knew I was sleeping. The cold room could be a morgue. I visioned Ryan leaving my lifeless body again and again. I was devastated and angry too. He promised he would love me ,no matter what. My heart ached and I had to wake up ,I had it. It was the only thing to do to shame my enemies.
I open my eyes and saw white. Was I in heaven then? I then saw a window on corner and my parents sitting with heads bowed. My father folded his hands worriedly. I knew I was in a hospital. I checked to the other side and saw Ryan sleeping on the chair uncomfortably.
” Ryan,” I muttered. My mother was the first to jump up and hold my hand alerting Ryan and my father that I was awake. I was happy ,he was by my side. I wondered why my thoughts want me to lose the man I love. He cares for me. I realized that dreamni had of him not caring about me was reflected by my doubt’s.
” You must leave ,” my father said to Ryan.
I sensed my father didn’t like that Ryan was here but I was relieved. I was over the moon ,I didn’t care what had happened to me .
” I am not leaving,” he declined and stood by my side.
” You are back,” he whispered . I saw happiness on his face and was joy was racing in his head.
” Baba,leave him! We should concentrate on her health first,” she whispered to my dad who stood still,motionless. She touched his arm and shook her head disapproving of what he wanted to do.
” I was worried about you,I will come back later,” he gushed checked his wristwatch and kissed my cheek and stormed out.
” I don’t want that boy near you,he is the one who put you in this situation,” my father sounded aggressive.
I looked at my mother with those stares that she would change my dad ‘s mind. A nurse walked in holding a file. She checked my vital and my parents watched as if they hoped she wouldn’t kill me.
” You are very lucky,that white boy saved you,” she wrote down on the file. I wondered what she meant but my parents seemed to know.
” Is he the one who called us,” my mother gushed .
” Yes,he used the hospital’s phone,” she replied and walked out with a smile.
My parents were dumbfounded or maybe dumbstruck. I came in light that Ryan ran after me and found me on the ground,attacked. He took me to hospitals and called my parents. He proven he was real my soulmate. My parents never talked bad about him ever again.Ryan saved my life,I became to love him more. Of course my father still didn’t accept him but not on my watch.
CHAPTER 7
” You are my queen ,I mean it darling,”he whispered in my ears.
I found out I had lost two teeth,but ,he didn’t care. Even if I lost an eye or arm or leg ,he would still loved me . This love to last until death separate us. It was indeed true love. I know I can buy some fake teeth but imagine I lost a part of me but Ryan still called me his queen.
That was music to my ears,I was drowning in love . After being discharged from hospital,he had been spoiling me with gifts and sometimes he brought me fruits and my favorite Hawaiian pizza. My parents didn’t contest but approved him. Their actions proved so but not verbally. I saw their shame on their face,they rejected trying to break us apart. It was on their faces,I ‘m a mind reader .
” I don’t like that boy,” my father muttered in our native language. He still didn’t want him.
” Baba,he saved our only daughter life. We will get through this,” my mother replied in our native language.
They thought I wouldn’t hear them but I pretended all was well. I didn’t want trouble.The counselor had told me to just pretend I didn’t hear them but one day eventually they would accept Ryan. After everything that happened to me,I wanted to be happy. The doctor suggested I saw a counselor because he said I had a trauma. I didn’t need one I need Ryan . He made my life whole. Ryan was making me the e happiest woman alive. I felt he loved me more than before.
It was obvious my parents didn’t want him to hear. They spoke in my native language,I kept my cool. We were no longer afraid of them and displayed our relationship openly. Ryan would spend a hour or more in our lounge but my parents sifted to the kitchen when ever he would arrive. It was either to give us privacy or they didn’t want to watch me and him because it hurt them deeply.
“I’m leaving,” he kissed my forehead. He helped me to stand and embraced me tightly in his arms.
” Mama ,Ryan is leaving,” I said loudly.
” Travel safely son,greet your parents,” my mother said loudly from the kitchen.
Her voice echoed in the room ,I sensed she didn’t mean a thing.
” Goodbye ,be safe,” my father said loudly from the kitchen. His voice sounded pretending, I know him.
” Thank you ma and pa,” Ryan was excited and left.
I looked through the door and watched him jump in his car and drove off. He blew a kiss as I waved my hands through the window. But I didn’t like the way the car drove off,it was too fast. My stomach clutched tight, I wondered why. I have a bad feeling something will happen. But where and to who?My thoughts were sitting heavy on me. I hope it was not bad. The clutching didn’t stop and I was more worried. I wanted to look through the window but my health was bad.


” He had a accident?” my mother spoke ,puzzled.
I was in bed reading my notes. I heard my mother and knew she was talking about Ryan.I was connected to Ryan ,when he was absent I could feel his life ,even it was away. I don’t know how. Maybe that is what they say love is! I assumed she was talking on the phone. I try to jump up and fell making a thud sound on floor. I didn’t hear more of what she said. I screamed and try to sit. My father walked in
” What happened?” he asked and help me sit on the bed and I groaned.
” Its Ryan ,is it?” I asked curiously.
” Ryan is okay,” he rubbed my shoulder softly still I felt my stomach clutching that something happened to him. My mother came in a flash as if she was being chased. We both stared at her,she looked worried and I knew it . Ryan was in a accident.
” Is he okay?” I asked anxiously.
She shook her head and tried to comfort me and I pushed her away.
” What happened?” my father asked.
” He is in ICU,” she murmured and I blast in a loud cry. My father was teary ,I saw a glimpse then he avoided eye contacts.
” I want to see him …,” I tried to stand and fell on the wall that balanced me.
” Calm down…. We will take you there tomorrow,” she spoke gently but my father was declining,I know it.
” Rest and sleep,” she kissed my forehead.
” We will pray for him and he will be fine”
I don’t know when my father had disappeared, I just knew talking about Ryan,he got angrier. How I wish he would accept him. As I stared at the ceiling ,gathering my thoughts. I came to light that it was a four hours since Ryan was here. Since he left my home I just felt my heart beating fast and stop! Something bad will happen. But a a chilly air cools the gloomy thoughts and speculations.


” Thank you for agreeing to come with us,” she sounded sincere.
Star speckled across the horizon,even though it was before midday. I watched through the window as they drove off in their Range Rover. I had a thoughts of possibilities that would happen . Remember they hated me.
Ryan ‘s parents had came to pick me up . They had a good and peaceful conservation with my parents but I didn’t hear about it. I only saw the quietness and giggles when I walked to the lounge. I wanted to see Ryan and never objected to their request.
Ryan lay on the bed with tubes from his mouth and nose. My heart ached when the machine kept beeping. His parents shook their head sympathetically as they looked at him. His mother looked straight in my eyes and smiled tenderly.
” I never want to see my son like this but gradually I will learn to love the woman who loves my son. I accept …. In’m sorry for everything we did to you,” his mother wrapped her arms around me.
I giggled and my heart wants to blast in joy. Finally …… Finally ….After a long and bumpy journey of rejection ,we finally come to a wonderful destiny. A story will always have a happy ending. Both my parents accept us ! No matter what color we still human who fell in love.
Do you know I got married to him?


END

Published by chirekimerenzia

Writing is a passion Writing is a therapy Writing is fun Writing makes me wiser Writing keeps me focused Writing keeps me pre- occupied Writin creates peace and build my self esteem Writing builds my happiness The more i write , the more i write better

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started